Please note: nominations have now closed for all categories except for our three Supplier of the Year Awards – thank you to all the charities that entered this year.

Download the 2019 Charity Retail Awards brochure (pdf format) for full details of the awards evening.

2019 Charity Retail Awards shortlist

Young Volunteer of the Year
Blue Cross (Ben Akin)
Salvation Army (Cameron Gunn)
Cancer Research UK (Molly Brett)

Volunteer of the Year
The Air Ambulance Service (Ann Robinson)
Cats Protection (Jim Hudson)
St Clare Hospice (Gill Taylor)

Retail Staff Member of the Year
WESC Foundation (Mark Vandenberg)
Barnardo’s (Sue Langford)
Chest, Heart & Stroke Scotland (Tracey Groom)

Shop of the Year
Shelter, Holloway Road, London
St Vincent de Paul, Kircubbin
Salvation Army, Outwood

Best Use of Innovation and Technology
The Air Ambulance Service
Sue Ryder

Greenest Charity Retailer of the Year
Wandsworth Oasis
British Heart Foundation
St Oswald’s Hospice

The Community and Social Impact Award
Salvation Army
St Vincent de Paul
St Clare Hospice

Outstanding Charity Retailer
The Air Ambulance Service
Pilgrims Hospices

Winners of the following categories will be announced on the night without a shortlist: Most Unusual Item Donated, and Most Valuable Item sold

Delegates that attend this year’s conference will be eligible to vote online for the WOW! Factor Best Window and Best Interior Awards, both categories sponsored by packing experts, Monro. The shortlist for these awards will be announced in early June.

We also have three Supplier of the Year Awards, in the following categories, which will be announced on the night:

  • Fewer than 50 clients
  • 50 – 150 clients
  • More than 150 clients

Charity Retail Awards Judges

Please note, judges preside over a maximum of one category and do not confer. For more details about the voting process, please contact Mark Chapman via email (

  • Peter Batt
    Divisional Managing Director, Co-op Food
  • Stephen Biddle
    Charity Retail Consultant
  • Jayne Cartwright
    Director, The Charity Retail Consultancy
  • Daniel Ingram
    Director, Association of Volunteer Manager
  • Jeremy Lune
    Chief Executive, Cards for Good Causes
  • Tim McNally
    Chief Executive, TISL
  • Chris Murray
    Director, PLD
  • Robin Osterley
    Chief Executive, Charity Retail Association
  • Elizabeth Palfreman
    National Hospice Support Manager, Hospice UK
  • Deborah Parry
    National Account Manager, Jobcentre Plus
  • Matthew Plumridge
    Head of Training, MJ Plumridge Ltd
  • Phil Prentice
    Chief Officer, Scotland’s Towns Partnership
  • Fergus Rolfe
    Fit for the Future Project Manager, Fit for the Future
  • Stephen Robertson
    Chief Executive, The Big Issue Foundation
  • Gal Shivtiel
    Managing Director, Gig Retail
  • John Tough
    Charity Retail Consultant

If you have any queries on the Charity Retail Awards, please email