Charity Retail APPG launch

Charity Retail All-Party Parliamentary Group holds first meeting

We were delighted that the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Charity Retail held its inaugural meeting at Portcullis House in Westminster today (6 December 2017). The new group aims to raise awareness and understanding of the charity retail sector among parliamentarians.

Chaired by Liberal Democrat MP and former Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change, the Rt Hon. Sir Ed Davey, the Rt Hon. Albert Owen MP and the Rt Hon. Luke Hall MP were appointed Joint Vice Chair. The appointments mean MPs across the political spectrum of the house are represented. The meeting was also attended by Rt Hon. the Lord Rooker and cross-party think-tank Demos, who outlined to the group findings from their recently published report, entitled Shopping For Good.

Commenting on the launch, the Rt Hon. Sir Ed Davey MP, said: “I am delighted to be chair of the new Charity Retail APPG, a sector that is vital for local high streets like those in my constituency of Kingston and Surbiton. Charity retail raises much needed funds for charities, tackles environmental issues, and helps with social cohesion.

“There is much for the APPG to be working on and I hope the new group will act as charity retail’s voice in parliament.”

Charity Retail Association CEO, Robin Osterley, said: “The launch of an All-Party Parliamentary Group is a big step forward. This will lead to a greater understanding of the charity retail sector and I am particularly pleased the Rt Hon. Sir Ed Davey MP will Chair the group. His experience and knowledge will ensure that charity retail has a strong voice in parliament.”

The charity retail sector generates more than £270m in profit for its parent charities each year, with 220,000 volunteers working in 11,500 charity shops, the largest group of volunteers in the United Kingdom.

(Pictured above are (left to right): Robin Osterley (Charity Retail Association CEO); Albert Owen MP Charity Retail APPG Vice-Chair); Sir Ed Davey MP (Charity Retail APPG Chair); Luke Hall (Charity Retail APPG Vice-Chair); and Simone Vibert (Demos).