New pandemic restrictions announced

Various parts of the UK have been, or will be, going into extended restrictions from 20 December which will require the closure of non-essential retail including charity shops.

In England, a number of areas have been placed into the new Tier 4, which will require charity shops to close as of Sunday 20 December.

The areas are:
• All 32 London boroughs plus City of London

South East
• Kent and Medway
• Buckinghamshire
• Berkshire (Bracknell Forest, Reading, Slough, Wokingham, Windsor and Maidenhead and West Berkshire)
• Surrey (excluding Waverley)
• Hastings and Rother
• Havant, Gosport and Portsmouth

East of England
• Hertfordshire
• Essex (excluding Tendring, Uttlesford and Colchester)
• Central Bedfordshire, Bedford, Milton Keynes, Luton
• Peterborough

You may continue to operate click and collect services where goods are pre-ordered and collected off the premises, and delivery services are also permitted. The restrictions will remain in place for at least 2 weeks and the new tiers will be reviewed on the 30 December.

Mainland Scotland will move into level 4 from 26 December, requiring the closure of charity shops. These restrictions will apply to the whole of Scotland with the exception of Orkney, Shetland and the Western Isles. The restrictions will remain in place for at least 3 weeks.

All of Wales entered a lockdown today, Sunday 20 December, requiring closure of charity shops. It is currently not clear when these restrictions will be reviewed.

Northern Ireland
As of 26 December, the whole of Northern Ireland will enter a six week lockdown, requiring closure of charity shops.

Updated summary of the latest Covid-19 Guidance is here.